The 15th of September 2016

Audio visual, sound and websites

The first thing that I have done in my audio visual class is learn how to edit and make music videos- this -I need serious improvement and practice in this section of media!

First of all we learnt how to edit a song that we were already given. We were also given the footage of 60’s and 70’s music videos to work into the song.

After we had gained experience of creating and editing we were able to create our own music videos. I used the song “send me home” sung by my favorite band Asking Alexandria. This song is about being lost and returning back to home. From listening to this song I had the idea of cutting families being reunited into the chorus of the song…

So send me home, I have lost my way
And I don’t even know if we’ll make it through today
Take another step, take another breath
I fill my lungs with the deepest regrets
And I don’t know if I’ll make it home again.

I used Disney films to do this because I thought that they would be the most suiting in he kind of situation that i was looking for. Kind of a clash considering Disney films are all family friendly movies and Asking Alexandria are a metal/ rock bands who spend most of their drinking and smoking!

disney

asking-alexandria

 

 

Now, I don’t know about you but i can see 0 similarity here.

 

 

 

test

 

I’m using a screenshot from tangled here. In this scene Rapunzel is reunited  with her family after she got snatched from them at birth. I thought that this would be a good scene to have through the chorus. I also thought that it went well with the song.

 I have also learnt how to create sounds and music for film. I spent this lesson messing around with the music and sounds available on the computer. This is a skill that I’m definitely going to have to improve on.

A youtube channel has also been made, i can hardly talk properly in person, let alone in front of a camera so this should be fun!

 I must say that I am more into the theory, writing and photography side of media as I am more confident in this side of media but I am enjoining learning about the other parts of media. I think i just need to feel more confident in these parts, because, as they are new I have pretty much no confidence in the sound or editing parts of media. However, I am feeling slightly more confident around the others in the class, its been extremely hard coming into lessons in college as I didn’t go to my lessons in year 11 due to personal reasons. I personal think i am getting on pretty well in my classes though. i am slowly making friends with these people which is hard because I’m used to getting so much crap off people. but college is becoming a better experience for me.

I seriously lack  any kind of creativity at the moment. I think the late nights are early mornings are seriously getting to me. I’m sure that as soon as i start to get used to the early start my creativity and energy is going to come back but right now I’m falling asleep on the bus and dosing in and out of a day dream when I’m in class.

Leave a Reply

